Posted by: Megan | April 11, 2008

Why Mt. Carmel?

Let me begin by explaining why I titled my blog the way I did. You may recognize it as the title of a book by St. John of the Cross. When I was confirmed, I chose St. Therese of Lisieux as my confirmation saint. Through her, I learned of the Carmelites, though I didn’t think much of it until a year or so ago. At that time, I became very interested in learning more about my faith, and I also started learning about different Carmelite saints. Their spirituality really appealed to me, and I was introduced to the Secular Order of Discalced Carmelites. To me, Mt. Carmel is a metaphor for heaven. So, this is my journey, my ascent. God willing, I will be entering the Secular Carmelites one day.

Responses

  1. This is really cool! I too have a connection to the Carmelites and love St. John of the Cross, St. Teresa of Avila, and the little flower! I don’t think I ever knew about your connection with them before Meg so it made me really happy when you chose this for your blog name! Wow it would be awesome if you were to join the secular Carmelites. I have to find out what they are all about.

  2. I’m a lay Carmelite. I really enjoy your blog. Please keep in touch. Ave Maria


Leave a Reply

Categories

